top of page

THE END IS COLOURFUL

Elize Vossgätter (b. 1981, South Africa) explores the tensions between the organic and the synthetic. She observes the emerging ecologies created by the integration of plastics and other polymers into ecosystems and the disruptive economics of waste systems.

“What strange natures are we making?

The exhibition follows a 6-week residency in the Thiess region of Senegal. “Here, I had the opportunity to observe a different ecosystem: a new crossroads of shapes, sounds and colors, light and humidity. And yet, many things were familiar: humans creating, innovating, consuming and discarding. The landscape retains the intimate exchange between people and their waste, and the environment becomes an augmented color field.”

Planet Earth is a closed system, and everything created on it stays there (Mehita Iqani, “What could Rubbish say?”; 2023).

 

Beeswax is the material with which she explores these ideas. It is an inherently mercurial medium - conservative by nature, but vulnerable to temperature. This “instability of states” is used as an analogy to explore themes of temporality and transformation in the context of a warming planet and impending climate crisis.

 

“In this exhibition, I have integrated other raw materials with wax: latex-sap, ground pigments, found plastic, aluminum car parts, found natural objects - to create a sensory atmosphere or ecosystem of a world in disequilibrium, observing the temporary co-mutation of human and non-human worlds. The paintings evoke natural processes such as attrition, sedimentation and erosion, while referring to man-made processes. They evoke a post-natural state in which organic processes begin to adapt to and co-evolve with synthesized contagions, creating hybrid ecosystems.” 

Color speaks.

COLOR DISTURBS.

Color cannot be contained.

Color is not subordinate. No “thing” is pure.

Impurity is renewed.

The color screams !

 

“Mankind has an ingenious ability to shape and reshape nature. In doing so, we have manufactured synthetic materials and chemical polymers far removed from nature, which are forced to integrate with organic processes of biodeterioration, altering the natural mechanisms of recovery and growth on which the planet depends. In this tug-of-war between innovation and degradation, humanity has systematically imposed the coevolution of natural life forms with abstract human “things”, with little or no understanding of the effects of this symbiosis.”

 

“The end is colorful” is the artist's first international exhibition. This exhibition follows the completion of her Master's degree in Cape Town in 2023 (with honors). She has organized seven solo exhibitions in South Africa over the past ten years, as well as numerous group shows and residencies abroad, including in New York, Istanbul and Leipzig. Her collections include the Saxon State Collection (Germany), the Francis Greenburger Collection (New York) and the Spier Collection (South Africa). She took part in the official Dakar Biennale in 2022.

She is represented by Everard Read Gallery, Cape Town, since 2019.

“I would particularly like to thank the following artists, with whom I had the privilege of working:

Issouf Zoungrana, the bronzier from Burkina Faso, who works with the traditional lost-wax casting technique using mud and fire, and who produced the recycled metal works for the exhibition.

Jonathon Durno, who always manages to translate my vision and 3D captures into an animated field.

And to my son, Sam O'Connor, who is studying music production in Berlin and created the soundscape for the animation.”
 

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER (b. 1981, South Africa)
BA(FA) 2002, MFA 2023 (University of Cape Town)
The end is colourful is the artists first international show following a successful local career in South Africa and the recent completion of her Master’s degree at the University of Cape Town with a body of work entitled ‘Gutter Pop’, from which many of these ideas have expanded from.

She works with raw materials- mostly beeswax - which she contaminates with synthetically produced pigments to create highly saturated works that mediate between an organic, industrial and digital aesthetic. Elize gestures to a post-natural state of which the unknown biodegradable effects of human production and waste – continuously synthesised materials and contagions that co-evolve with organic processes – create a hybrid ecosystem. As such, she observes the tentative co-existence and co-mutation of the human and non-human world.

Wax is an inherently mercurial medium- sensitive to temperature and preservative by nature- its instability-of-states is used as an analogy with which to explore the relationship between human and natural environments and the themes of temporality and transformation within the context of the heating planet and immanent climate crisis, questioning the capacity for protection and preservation. 

Her work is a constant attempt to seek balance and harmony between contrasting states.


Elize Vossgätter refers to herself as a post-humanist, which at its core is the belief that the boundaries between human and non-human are fluid and that they exist in a constant state of interaction and interdependence, thus decentring long-established Western Enlightenment ideas of what it means to be human. Posthumanism instead, considers the changing relationship between humans and the natural environment that allows for the non-binary and anti-hierarchical interactions. Looking at the natural environment through the lens of posthumanism changes nature from being something fixed, categorised or represented to being dynamic, collective, and lived. 

“We become so enraptured with each other’s differences: our shades of colours, our multi-fabricated beliefs and languages and origins and powers- we have forgotten to see the view around us and the waste we’ve left in our wake. When it comes to the health of our planet, we are all equally inconsequential.”

“The tone of my work is waveringly optimistic. I observe the lust-of innovation, the melancholia-of-waste, the comfort of possibilities and the ineptitude of holding on. I express the giddy discomfort of being in this liminal-space — looking to the past to see the scope of the damage, and looking ahead towards plausible futures. Posthumanism presents an intoxicating shift in thinking, a recalibration of scales, from separateness to connectedness, wherein human and non-human agents can co-exist and cross-pollinate…… and to me, colour is the great disruptor.”

IMG_9766 2.jpeg

THE END IS COLOURFUL

ANARCHY AND REGENERATION I, 2023

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER

ANARCHY AND REGENERATION I, 2023

Signed, titled, framed

Beeswax and pigment on canvas

122 x 79 cm

Unique piece

TOXIC-SUBLIME I, 2024

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER

TOXIC-SUBLIME I, 2024

Signed, titled, framed

Beeswax, pigment and spray paint on panel

80 x 60.5 cm

Unique piece

VIEWS FROM ANOTHER SHORE I, 2023

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER

VIEWS FROM ANOTHER SHORE I, 2023

Signed, titled, framed

Beeswax and pigment on canvas

70 x 52 cm

Unique piece

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER

VIEWS FROM ANOTHER SHORE III, 2023

Signed, titled, framed

Beeswax and pigment on canvas

70 x 52 cm

Unique piece

ANARCHY AND REGENERATION II, 2023

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER

ANARCHY AND REGENERATION II, 2023

Signed, titled, framed

Beeswax and pigment on canvas

122 x 79cm

Unique piece

TOXIC-SUBLIME II, 2024

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER

TOXIC-SUBLIME II, 2024

Signed, titled, framed

Beeswax, pigment and spray paint on panel

80 x 60.5 cm

Unique piece

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER

VIEWS FROM ANOTHER SHORE II, 2023

Signed, titled, framed

Beeswax and pigment on canvas

70 x 52 cm

Unique piece

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER

VIEWS FROM ANOTHER SHORE IV, 2023

Signed, titled, framed

Beeswax and pigment on canvas

70 x 52 cm

Unique piece

Sold

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER

EMBRACE THE SOFTNESS, 2023

Signée, titrée, encadrée

Bronze bas-relief (Lost-wax)

60 x 42 X 5 cm

Pièce unique

Sold

bottom of page

top of page

THE END IS COLOURFUL

Elize Vossgätter (née en 1981 en Afrique du Sud) explore les tensions entre l'organique et le synthétique. Elle observe les écologies émergentes créées par l'intégration des plastiques et autres polymères dans les écosystèmes et l'économie perturbatrice des systèmes de déchets.

« Quelles natures étranges fabriquons-nous ? »

L'exposition fait suite à une résidence de 6 semaines dans la région de Thiess, au Sénégal. « Ici, j'ai eu l'occasion d'observer un écosystème différent : un nouveau croisement de formes, de sons et de couleurs, de lumière et d'humidité. Et pourtant, beaucoup de choses m'étaient familières : les humains qui créent, innovent, consomment et jettent. Le paysage retient l'échange intime entre les gens et leurs déchets, et l'environnement devient un champ de couleurs augmenté. »

 

 

La planète Terre est un système fermé, et tout ce qui est créé sur cette planète y reste. (Mehita Iqani, « What could Rubbish say ? »; 2023)

 

La cire d'abeille est le matériau avec lequel elle explore ces idées. Il s'agit d'un médium intrinsèquement mercuriel - conservateur par nature, mais vulnérable aux températures. Cette « instabilité des états » est utilisée comme analogie pour explorer les thèmes de la temporalité et de la transformation dans le contexte d'une planète qui se réchauffe et d'une crise climatique imminente.

 

« Dans cette exposition, j'ai intégré d'autres matières premières à la cire : latex-sap, pigments broyés, plastique trouvé, pièces de voiture en aluminium, objets naturels trouvés - pour créer une atmosphère sensorielle ou un écosystème d'un monde en déséquilibre, observant la co-mutation provisoire des mondes humain et non-humain. Les peintures évoquent des processus naturels tels que l'attrition, la sédimentation et l'érosion, tout en faisant référence à des processus créés par l'homme. Elles évoquent un état post-naturel dans lequel les processus organiques commencent à s'adapter aux contagions synthétisées et à coévoluer avec elles, créant ainsi des écosystèmes hybrides.» 

La couleur parle.

LA COULEUR PERTURBE.

La couleur ne peut être contenue.

La couleur n'est pas subordonnée. Aucune « chose » n'est pure.

L'impureté se renouvelle.

La couleur crie !

 

« L'humanité possède une capacité ingénieuse à façonner et à remodeler la nature. Ce faisant, nous avons fabriqué des matériaux synthétiques et des polymères chimiques très éloignés de la nature, qui sont contraints de s'intégrer aux processus organiques de biodétérioration, altérant les mécanismes naturels de récupération et de croissance dont dépend la planète. Dans ce bras de fer entre innovation et dégradation, l'humanité a systématiquement imposé la coévolution de formes de vie naturelles avec des « choses » humaines abstraites, avec peu ou pas de compréhension des effets de cette symbiose »

 

"The end is colourful" est la première exposition internationale de l'artiste. Cette exposition fait suite à l'obtention de son master au Cap en 2023 (avec mention). Elle a organisé sept expositions personnelles en Afrique du Sud au cours des dix dernières années, ainsi que de nombreuses expositions de groupe et résidences à l'étranger, notamment à New York, Istanbul et Leipzig. Ses collections comprennent notamment la collection de l'État de Saxe (Allemagne), la collection Francis Greenburger (New York) et la collection Spier (Afrique du Sud). Elle a participé à la Biennale officielle de Dakar en 2022.

Elle est représentée par Everard Read Gallery, Cape Town, depuis 2019.

"Je tiens à remercier tout particulièrement les artistes suivants, avec lesquels j'ai eu le privilège de travailler :

Issouf Zoungrana, le bronzier du Burkina Faso, qui travaille avec la technique traditionnelle de la fonte à la cire perdue en utilisant la boue et le feu, et qui a produit les œuvres en métal recyclé pour l'exposition.

Jonathon Durno, qui parvient toujours à traduire ma vision et mes captures en 3D en un champ animé.

Et à mon fils, Sam O'Connor, qui étudie la production musicale à Berlin et qui a créé l'ambiance sonore de l'animation."

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER

The end is colourful est la première exposition internationale de l'artiste après une carrière locale réussie en Afrique du Sud et l'achèvement récent de son master à l'université du Cap avec un ensemble d'œuvres intitulé "Gutter Pop", à partir duquel bon nombre de ces idées se sont développées.

 

Elle travaille avec des matériaux bruts - principalement de la cire d'abeille - qu'elle contamine avec des pigments synthétiques pour créer des œuvres hautement saturées qui se situent entre une esthétique organique, industrielle et numérique. Elle évoque un état post-naturel dans lequel les effets biodégradables inconnus de la production et des déchets humains - des matériaux synthétisés en permanence et des contagions qui évoluent en même temps que les processus organiques - créent un écosystème hybride. Elle observe ainsi la coexistence et la co-mutation provisoires du monde humain et non humain.

La cire est un médium intrinsèquement mercuriel - sensible à la température et conservateur par nature - dont l'instabilité des états est utilisée comme analogie pour explorer la relation entre les environnements humains et naturels et les thèmes de la temporalité et de la transformation dans le contexte de la planète qui se réchauffe et de la crise climatique immanente, remettant en question la capacité de protection et de préservation.

Son travail est une tentative constante de recherche d'équilibre et d'harmonie entre des états contrastés.

Elize Vossgätter se définit comme une post-humaniste, ce qui signifie que les frontières entre l'humain et le non-humain sont fluides et qu'elles existent dans un état constant d'interaction et d'interdépendance, ce qui déconsidère les idées occidentales des Lumières, établies de longue date, sur ce que signifie être humain. Le posthumanisme considère plutôt l'évolution des relations entre les humains et l'environnement naturel, qui permet des interactions non binaires et anti-hiérarchiques. En considérant l'environnement naturel sous l'angle du posthumanisme, la nature n'est plus quelque chose de fixe, de catégorisé ou de représenté, mais plutôt quelque chose de dynamique, de collectif et de vécu. 

 

"Nous sommes tellement fascinés par les différences de chacun : nos nuances de couleurs, nos croyances, nos langues, nos origines et nos pouvoirs multifabriqués, que nous avons oublié de voir ce qui nous entoure et les déchets que nous avons laissés dans notre sillage. Quand il s'agit de la santé de notre planète, nous sommes tous aussi insignifiants les uns que les autres."

"Le ton de mon travail est d'un optimisme hésitant. J'observe la soif d'innovation, la mélancolie du gaspillage, le confort des possibilités et l'inaptitude à s'accrocher. J'exprime l'inconfort étourdissant d'être dans cet espace liminal - en regardant vers le passé pour voir l'étendue des dégâts, et en regardant vers l'avant, vers des futurs plausibles. Le posthumanisme présente un changement de pensée enivrant, un réétalonnage des échelles, de la séparation à la connexion, dans lequel les agents humains et non humains peuvent coexister et se croiser...... et pour moi, la couleur est le grand perturbateur".

20240515_163728.UNI_9615.jpg

THE END IS COLOURFUL

ANARCHY AND REGENERATION I, 2023

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER

ANARCHY AND REGENERATION I, 2023

Signée, titrée, encadrée

Beeswax and pigment on canvas

122 x 79 cm

Pièce unique

TOXIC-SUBLIME I, 2024

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER

TOXIC-SUBLIME I, 2024

Signée, titrée, encadrée

Beeswax, pigment and spray paint on panel

80 x 60,5 cm

Pièce unique

VIEWS FROM ANOTHER SHORE I, 2023

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER

VIEWS FROM ANOTHER SHORE I, 2023

Signée, titrée, encadrée

Beeswax and pigment on canvas

70 x 52 cm

Pièce unique

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER

VIEWS FROM ANOTHER SHORE III, 2023

Signée, titrée, encadrée

Beeswax and pigment on canvas

70 x 52 cm

Pièce unique

ANARCHY AND REGENERATION II, 2023

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER

ANARCHY AND REGENERATION II, 2023

Signée, titrée, encadrée

Beeswax and pigment on canvas

122 x 79 cm

Pièce unique

TOXIC-SUBLIME II, 2024

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER

TOXIC-SUBLIME II, 2024

Signée, titrée, encadrée

Beeswax, pigment and spray paint on panel

80 x 60,5 cm

Pièce unique

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER

VIEWS FROM ANOTHER SHORE II, 2023

Signée, titrée, encadrée

Beeswax and pigment on canvas

70 x 52 cm

Pièce unique

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER

VIEWS FROM ANOTHER SHORE IV, 2023

Signée, titrée, encadrée

Beeswax and pigment on canvas

70 x 52 cm

Pièce unique

ELIZE VOSSGÄTTER

EMBRACE THE SOFTNESS, 2023

Signée, titrée, encadrée

Bronze bas-relief (Lost-wax)

60 x 42 X 5 cm

Pièce unique

Vendu

bottom of page